Yesterday is what I would describe as a bad morning. For those of you who are friends with me on Facebook, you know what I’m talking about.

My parents let me borrow their car for the week. They have four cars between the two of them so I figured I would do them a favor and take one for myself. I have been driving to work and I am so much happier because of it!  Instead of leaving for work at 6:30 a.m. and getting to the office at 8:05 a.m., I have been leaving at 6:45 and arriving at 7:30! I also save so much time on the way home! Such a time saver! Here’s where it all goes downhill…

I was on my way to work yesterday morning with a coworker when my car started to act up. I thankfully got out of the intersection just in time for my car to run out of gas. This happened once in high school so I was positive this was the problem. I was planning on getting gas after work because the gas gauge on the car is broken…I was eight hours short. Thankfully, after 20 minutes of fiddling our thumbs and knocking on strangers’ doors for help, a Lake Forest Community Service Officer came to the rescue and filled my tank with two gallons (for free!).

The closest gas station is Costco and my coworker is a part of the exclusive club so we headed there. Costco doesn’t take credit cards so I tried to use my debit and conveniently forgot my pin number. How does that happen?! This is not a new card! So now I owe my coworker $50.

We finally made it to work an hour later than planned. I quickly grabbed my peppermint coffee creamer out of the fridge and shook it before adding it to my coffee. To put a cherry on top of my morning, the cap wasn’t on tight so sticky, sugary creamer went everywhere. We have carpet in our kitchen so I was on my hands and knees trying to clean up my mess. It smelled like Christmas threw up everywhere. I was so close to leaving the office to go back to my apartment to try to start the day over again, but I didn’t want to try to explain that to my boss. Woe is me.

Thankfully, the string of bad luck ended there.

My positive take from the day is that even though I didn’t have a great morning, things could be a lot worse. I got home from work and went for a great four mile run along the lake and then enjoyed some trashy reality T.V. Living the dream! 🙂

