Hi, it’s me. You may not remember me but I used to write a blog called A Runners Crave…

I know it has been a while since I have posted. It has been a crazy few weeks! I spent Thanksgiving with my family (minus my dad who had to coach a basketball tournament in Quincy, IL).

My mom is so tiny.

And I celebrated my 24th birthday on December 5th!

On the Saturday before my bday my friends and I went to Uncommon Ground which I HIGHLY recommend! Everyone got something different and we all loved it! It is such a great atmosphere and they “…use local, sustainable & organic products whenever possible.” I think their menu changes with the seasons. Like always, I forgot to take pictures so here are a few from their website.

Rachael Ray loves it too!

For an appetizer we got the sweet potato fries with goat cheese fondue…AMAZING…they didn’t stand a chance and were gone faster than Kim K.’s marriage. I would go back just for those.

For dinner I got the fall salad (organic spicy greens, orange segments, caramelized onions, capriole goat cheese, cranberry vinaigrette, toasted pecans) and tempura avocado tacos (chihuahua cheese, jalapenos, organic arugula, sundried tomato aioli, sunflower sprouts).

Paul got the macaroni and cheese with bacon…Paul will eat anything if it has bacon. My friends ordered: bacon wrapped meatloaf, a grilled chicken sandwich, korean chili-spiced fried calamari, fall pizza (heirloom tomato sauce, fresh herb marinated mozzarella, wild mushrooms, fresh basil, organic extra virgin olive oil) and then Paul surprised me with dessert and awkward singing of “Happy Birthday to You”. The dessert was to die for. It was a s’mores tart (chocolate ganache, bruleed homemade marshmallow and graham cracker crust)…so chocolatety and delicious. I will definitely be going back.

On Sunday my parents came to the city and we went to Durkin’s to watch the Steelers dominate. And then there was some more awkward singing.

Paul and I went to the Blackhawks game on Monday, my actual birthday, and had amazing seats! Unfortunately they lost in a shootout, but it was an awesome game. It’s the second game I have been to and it’s  the second time I have seen them loose in a shootout…bad luck?

Can’t you tell I’m 1 year older?

Thank you to everyone who helped me celebrate my birthday!!

On a completely different topic…after work today I am determined to go for a run. It snowed a little last night and there is more to come…boo!

I will be sure to stay away from the lake given the lake effect snow that’s expected.

On Black Friday I bought some running clothes from Old Navy (you can never have enough running clothes) and so far, so good. I will let you know how my run goes and if the clothes keep me warm enough or if I freeze to death! Have a great weekend!

