I did it! I made my first Thanksgiving dinner and it actually wasn’t that hard! But a lot of thanks does need to go to the inventor of the Crock-Pot!

Paul will be in Canada this weekend so he won’t have a Thanksgiving, and last year he had to work so he “cooked” himself Thanksgiving. Being the awesome girlfriend that I am, I decided to surprise him with an early Thanksgiving last night.

I got a turkey breast from Dominick’s which was perfect because I didn’t have to deal with the giblets because that would have made me vomit and it was the perfect size for two people. When I left for work at 6:30 a.m. I put it on low in the Crock-Pot.

When I got home from work the apartment smelled awesome. Paul doesn’t like white potatoes so I got us sweet potatoes and put them in the oven for an hour.

Paul said it was one of the best he has ever had and even said, “I have never cooked one this perfect” (Paul is a much better cook). With the turkey in the Crock-Pot and potatoes in the oven I had time to pack for the weekend which worked out well because I tend to stress easily.

With five minutes left on the potatoes I made the Stove Top stuffing…

and sliced the turkey…

The turkey looks disgusting in this picture but it was really good and flavorful!

Paul and I are both in love with canned cranberries. When I was in high school the local newspaper was doing bios on the basketball players and I put cranberries as my favorite food…and then I realized I need to get out more. But real cranberries have a weird consistency and gross me out. The jellied kind win every time!

Paul showed up just in time and was very surprised! I knew he would be shocked because I am not a good cook! I patted myself on the back after Paul said it was the nicest thing anyone has ever done for him and that it was the best meal I have ever cooked. 10 points for me!

I am heading to my parents house today and I can’t wait to see my family! My brothers are coming home from college so hopefully traffic isn’t bad! We are having our Thanksgiving tonight because my dad has to leave for good ‘ole Quincy, IL for a basketball tournament at 6 a.m. tomorrow morning. Nothing like Thanksgiving dinner two days in a row! Enjoy the holiday!

