I like to eat. Plain and simple. My roommate once asked me if I had a tapeworm because I was eating so much. And did that stop me? Of course not.

After I moved out, I asked my mom to make me a recipe book of all her recipes so I can attempt to be a grownup and for Christmas last year she put all of them in an adorable recipe box (pictures later).

I liked to cook in high school when I was in Foods class but I think the only reason was because I didn’t have to make the effort of looking up the recipe on my own or go to the store and find the right ingredients and not to mention, it was an easy A…I was lazy. In college I lived on chicken, quick rice sides, turkey burgers and tacos…blah. When I was studying abroad in Ireland I didn’t have the privilege of living with a host family and I didn’t have any money so I survived on Ramen Noodles (I would add my own chicken) and bagels and cream cheese. Not to mention a Guinness or two…hence the 10 lb weight gain…to my face.


Guinness is not a light beer. Gelato twice a day in Italy.


left – Waffles with ice cream in Galway. We ate there twice, as if once wasn’t enough.
right – a typical Irish dinner

I can’t believe I’m putting this up…I had no idea I was gaining weight until I got home and saw pictures of myself! I look swollen…but Claire and Reilly look great!

If there’s anyone or anything I can blame but myself I going to blame some of my lack of cooking skills on my terrible math skills. If there is not a measuring cup or spoon with what the recipe calls for, I won’t make it. Embarrassing, right? Baking is another story because it’s hard to mess anything up when it involves chocolate and almost always, chocolate is the main ingredient of what I’m baking (baking post to come later).

One of the first recipes I tried is my mom’s stuffed shells. It’s one of my dad’s favorite foods and it’s hard to mess-up. I hated it as a kid but now I love it! If you are a cooking clutz like me, try this out and let me know how it turns out! (next time I make them I will take better pictures)

Ingredients:

I can of tuna (tuna can be substituted for ground beef or just veggies)
2 medium tomatoes
1 small onion
celery
cottage cheese
mozzarella cheese
garlic
pasta shells
1 jar spaghetti sauce

Instructions:
Cook 16 large pasta shells according to the package
drain, set aside to cool
In a large frying pan combine:
1 can tuna, drained
1 medium tomato, chopped
sprinkle garlic
small diced onion
2 stalks celery chopped
½ jar spaghetti sauce
1 C cottage cheese

Stuff shells with the tuna mixture (set aside on paper plates)

To the empty frying pan add the last ½ of the spaghetti sauce and 1 chopped medium tomato and stir

Add stuffed shells to the frying pan

Sprinkle with 2 C mozzarella cheese (or more 🙂 )

Cover with foil and cook on low until the cheese melts and the sauce bubbles

ENJOY!

