Last weekend my mom and I ran the Chi Town Half Marathon. I was looking forward to running with my mom but needless to say, neither of us was really looking forward to the race. The night before the forecast showed that at the start, it would be 50 degrees with a chance of thunderstorms (Do races get cancelled or postponed when it’s lightening?). Both terrible things but we put on our big girl pants and did the damn thing.

Now let’s rewind to Friday.

Paul and I have made it a tradition to go to Angelina’s to carb-up on Fridays before a Sunday race. Paul doesn’t run but he was loading up for his 18 hour road trip to Augusta, Georgia for the Masters…makes perfect sense. Since I gave up cheese and it was a Friday in Lent, I couldn’t have my typical pre-race meal of ricotta cheese gnocchi with sausage so I had penne pasta with shrimp in a tomato sauce…talk about boring. Paul had the shrimp scampi with creamy polenta in lemon and garlic herb butter which he gets every time. Man, are we exciting or what? I obviously felt the need to stuff myself beyond comfort so we got ice cream after dinner.

Since Pinterest has allowed me to no longer have to think for myself, I found a recipe for Banana and Nutella Stuffed French Toast which Paul made on Saturday. It was AMAZING and now I’m obsessed with Nutella.

Two meals later, I have had enough carbs for the month…and I wasn’t stopping there.

My mom came into the city (my dad couldn’t make it because my parents are renovating the upstairs of their house and let’s face it, he would have been bored to death) that afternoon and we walked the mile to Universal Sole for packet pick-up. There was a line out the door but it moved fast. When we walked in we received a 20% off coupon for the store and then the line continued to weave through the merchandise. They knew exactly what they were doing! Unfortunately, we were only given our bib and race shirt (we even had to bring our own bag). No free samples which I was disappointed in since the race was $60. I’m glad I loaded up on SWAG at the Shuffle expo.

After some relaxing, we met Paul at Pasta Palazzo for more pasta. I don’t remember what everyone ordered but we all loved it and I clearly have been forgetting to take pictures again.

Sunday morning my mom and I were off to run the Chi Town Half Marathon!

Next post: Race Recap