Last weekend Paul, Bob and I went to Nashville to visit Drew and Tiffany who got married in November. Their wedding was only kinda fun…

I taught Paul everything he knows about dancing.

Bob and I left bright and early Friday morning. Paul wasn’t coming until later that night because he couldn’t get the day off work. I am not a fan of country music and I knew I was in for a rude awakening the second I walked in the Nashville airport…cowboy hats and boots, framed guitars and country music EVERYWHERE.

Once we got to their apartment I had a couple of hours of work to get done. So we relaxed and hung out with Tootsie. 

We made a trip to the grocery store and more importantly, the liquor store. Tiffany was an awesome host and already had planned for the meals she was going to make. Crock Pot = best invention ever. We had chili, buffalo chicken, and chicken and dumplings.

I wanted to get one long run in for the weekend because the half marathon is two weeks away so I headed to the gym in their apartment complex and ran 8 miles on the treadmill. I don’t remember the last time I ran on the TM and I was reminded why…so boring.

We picked up Paul from the airport, grabbed some frozen pizzas and headed back to the apartment to play card games. Drew taught us hearts which I still don’t understand…probably because I have the attention span of a five-year-old.

­­­­­Saturday morning, St. Patrick’s Day, Tiffany and I went to the gym to get our sweat on. Our only goal was to be there for a half hour. The guys tried to convince us to stay for an hour so they could play more Halo. Typical.

Paul made breakfast sandwiches and it was a beautiful day so we headed to the pool!

Drew, Paul and Bob

Me and Tiffany

Drew, Paul, Tiffany and Bob

After getting some much-needed sun, we got ready to go to the bars on Broadway Street.

The whole group at Broadway Brewhouse for Bushwackers!

Bushwackers are basically milkshakes with alcohol in it…AMAZING. Paul has one in his hand here:

After Brewhouse we went to Honky Tonk, The Stage, Tootsie’s and Legends. It was such a great time and it felt like we were out until 5 a.m. but we were home by 11 p.m.! Here are some pictures from the night:

This is normal.

And it’s getting later…Paul – pointing at the camera is really cool.

My friend Lindsey was visiting Nashville the same weekend!

I really wanted his glasses. He wasn’t letting that happen…

They have live music at every bar. Paul was really excited about it.

To say I was struggling Sunday morning is an understatement. There was no way I was going for a run. Bob made his specialty banana pancakes and then we went to the pool to sweat out the alcohol relax. It was a great weekend and it was really hard to leave! Tiffany and Drew – Thank you so much for your awesome hospitality! Such a great weekend filled with friends, food, drinks and great weather!

This past weekend I met up with some great Chicago running bloggers! Next post coming soon!

